Brit Writers’ Awards 2011 – Final Call For UK Submissions

Industry: Publishing

The Brit Writers’ Awards is the UK’s largest creative writing project and awards for unpublished and self-published authors.

United kingdom (PRUnderground) February 21st, 2011

Former school teacher Catherine Cooper who was crowned Unpublished Writer of the Year 2010 and scooped the £10,000 cash prize and a publishing contract at the Brit Writers Awards last July at the O2 is now enjoying global sales from her book The Golden Acorn.

Joanna West, Operations Manager for the BWA said; “This year it looks like it will be an even bigger year for the Brit Writers all round. From the variety to the number of submissions and the range of partners on board; it’s going to be an incredible year for this year’s winners.”

The Brit Writers’ Awards is the UK’s largest creative writing project and awards for unpublished and self-published authors. Their network of writers, agents, publishers and partners is growing by the day and in addition to adults; over a million children are involved in their BWA schools programmes across the country.

The prestigious £10,000 prize and publishing contract will be awarded at the gala awards ceremony due to be held in late September in Central London. Last year’s awards were a glittering, star-studded event at the O2, London, attended by TV and film stars, writers of all ages and famous authors including Sir Terry Pratchett who won the Published category award for his book Nation.

UK entries deadline: 5pm, Friday 25 February 2011

International entries deadline: 5pm, Friday 25 March 2011

UK Schools entries deadline: 5pm, Friday 27 May 2011

Award categories include: Novels • Poetry • Short Stories • Non-fiction • Songwriting • Stage & Screenplay • Writing for Children • Published Novels

To enter your masterpieces go to the Brit Writers’ Awards website:

About Catherine Cooper:

Last July, Catherine Cooper, a retired Shropshire teacher, won at the inaugural Brit Writers’ Awards, winning an impressive £10,000.

On winning the award, Catherine signed with Oxford-based publisher Infinite Ideas. Her winning book, The Golden Acorn, first in the Jack Brenin series, was published in the autumn of 2010.

The book has been a hit on Amazon Kindle, with more than ten thousand downloads since Christmas.

The second book of her four book publishing deal, Glasruhen Gate, is published this month.

We caught up with Catherine and asked her what made her enter the awards in the first place? In her usual humble style, Catherine said; “I entered the Brit Writers’ Awards in the hope that my book would make it to the final. I’d then be able to put the word ‘Finalist’ on the front cover of my book, and hope someone (an agent or publisher), would take me seriously as a writer and notice my book. I didn’t expect to win, due to the high number of entries, but the Brit Writers’ Awards was offering unpublished authors the chance of a lifetime, which no one else seemed to be doing.”

Catherine’s international profile has also grown, with language rights for The Golden Acorn recently selling in Brazil and presently under discussion with publishers in Japan, France, Hungary, Portugal and Thailand.

An option for the film rights for the Jack Brenin series is also currently being discussed with a major Hollywood producer.

For images to accompany this press release please CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD

Further information call Joanna West on 0871 237 4442 or email



Become a Fan

Press Contact

Joanna West
0871 237 4442

Image Gallery